WIP Wednesday: 11.14.12

There was quite a bit of sewing going on around here last week and unfortunately a bit of sickness too. I didn’t reach all my goals, but am still happy with what I did accomplish.

Edited: I can’t believe I forgot to add my little piece of exciting news. It’s no secret that I’m a huge fan of Kate Spain’s Terrain line. Last week I received my copy of her November newsletter and she included pictures of two of my quilting projects. My favorite ongoing EPP project, Grandmother’s Flower Garden and Terrain Stairway to Heaven made using Geta Grama’s wonderful Stairway to Heaven pattern. As a new quilter, I’m beyond thrilled that she included my pictures. It’s always nice when someone you admire, thinks you’re doing fun things with their designs.

1. Scrappy Stash QAL: Progress made, but not in time to link up. All my blocks are constructed and I finalized my layout yesterday. I don’t have a design wall, so I cleared a large floor space and kept them out all day, tweaking as I walked by. Fellow cat lovers will appreciate that after being upstairs for several hours with my kids, I found my blocks flipped over, in complete disarray, with Sage’s favorite fuzzy mouse laying in the middle of the mess. I think she especially likes the feel of the batting on the back, because I saw her picking one up with her paws last night. Needless to say I made sure they were safely stashed away before going to bed. This morning during breakfast I heard her yammering in the other room. When I walked in, she was sitting in the empty space where the blocks had been with her mouse toy in her mouth. How dare I take HER blocks away. lol. The end of day pictures I took have extremely poor lighting. This one is close, but without my final tweaks of the yellows.

I’ve named this quilt Log Mansion in honor of its size. When finished it will be 88″ X 96″. The Scrappy Stash QAL Link Up has started at Ellison Lane Quilts and you can see more beautiful log cabin quilts there.

2. Tula Pink Sew Along: Quilt top COMPLETED!

I really love this quilt and can’t wait to have it quilted. Due to its size, it will need to be long-armed and I know that won’t be happening until next year. Full pictures and additional details can be found here. I am particularly fond of this picture of my kiddos helping me attempt to get a full picture on a windy Nebraska day.

The rest of my goals for November are coming along too. I will be back later this week with one last project! Have a great week everyone!

Linking up to WIP Wednesday at Freshly Pieced

8 thoughts on “WIP Wednesday: 11.14.12

    1. Anna

      The blocks are already quilted, she used a QAYG method.

      The log cabin blocks are looking good, can’t wait to see the finished quilt! Congrats on getting featured in the newsletter, too! And I love your cat story. I had to lock mine in the basement the other day to pin baste my secret quilt project. They were not pleased, but although I love them, I have an aversion to cat hair on my quilts. šŸ™‚

      Reply
  1. Steph

    Great progress! I love both of your quilts–they are so bright and fun. And the picture of your kiddos is so cute. The expression on his face is priceless!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

