WIP 1.23.13: Waaa Waaa Waaa…

I had grand plans for this week. Which is why it should come as no surprise that I haven’t been able to sit at my machine since I finished up my bee blocks. I was diagnosed with fibromyalgia over 15 years ago. I’ve learned how to manage it fairly well, but every once and awhile I have a rough spot. This particular flare-up included back pain, so as much as I wanted to, it just wasn’t worth it to make it worse by sewing. At the same time, it’s impossible for me to keep my hands still. Ever since I was little, I have to be doing something with my hands to sit still and relax…from shuffling cards, pushing buttons on a mindless game or in more recent cases… SEWING HEXIES!

DSC_0480

I have multiple hexie quilts going and this week I decided it was time to catch up on my charm quilt. I  have been making a 1″ hexie out of every piece of fabric that comes my way. Whether a charm pack, charm swap, bundle, or individual prints, one of the first things I do is cut myself a 2 1/2″ square and toss it into a bin. Every once and awhile I try to get caught up. On the left, are my finished ones for the week and on the right, are the ones waiting to be basted.

DSC_0481 (2)

It’s been awhile since I dumped them all out, so I took this chance to grab a picture of the lot of them. I didn’t have quite enough energy to try a new layout, but I did take some time to count them before I put them away.

DSC_0482

Each stack above is 20 hexies for 927 total. I’m pretty sure once the ones at top are done I’ll be over 1000. I have no idea how many I need to make a finished quilt, but I think it’s time to decide on a design and start sewing these suckers together.

Linking up…

WIP Wednesday

8 thoughts on “WIP 1.23.13: Waaa Waaa Waaa…

  1. Diane Chambers

    I just love the bright colors of your hexies. And there is a soothing nature to being to handle and count and arrange and re-arrange anything fabric related. Better than yoga I say. Hope you are feeling up to sewing soon but I would say you sure picked a curative path! The colors lifted my spirits for sure.

    Reply
  2. Sabrina

    Wow! Your hexies are beautiful! That is such a great idea to take a piece out of every fabric. I am going to try and start doing that. I hope you are feeling much better soon!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

