February Bee Blocks are Finished!

My 4 X 5 Blocks made it out in the mail this past week.

I finished my “HOPE” block for Kristy from Quiet Play. That is a plain white background, my light was crummy. I really like the way this ended up. If you are looking for a “type” style alphabet, this is a very good one.

DSC_0530

It was Sabrina’s month for Color Bee Shocked. She chose Japanese X & + blocks and sent out a selection of blue fabrics. She told us that she would be open to us making a second block from stash if we were interested. These are fun little blocks and I knew I was going to make more than one from the beginning. I tried hard to pick similar blues and mixed mine in with hers so they would look a bit more uniform. My son was sad when I told him that these were being sent out. He thinks everything I make needs more blue.

DSC_0526

I do really love these blocks and decided I needed a couple for my ongoing sampler quilts (I used a different tutorial so that these would end up 12 1/2″ or 12″ finished). The first is for my text block quilt using text fabrics and the second is in my rainbow on white color palette that I use for the 3 X 6 and 4 X 5 bees.

DSC_0528

DSC_0529

Finally, I tackled this months do.Good Stitches. Meesh chose It’s a New Day for her pattern and based her palette on a piece of artwork.

meesh inspiration

Our colors ended up being medium to light warm and salmon colored pinks, medium to light grays, medium to light warm golds, white and medium to light beige with a Kona Jet background. Fortunately she posted some examples and based on her fabrics I chose the following stack from stash.

DSC_0535She requested an A block and a B block, but was open to additional A blocks. I wanted to play with this palette a little more and ended up with these final three blocks.

DSC_0536

DSC_0537

DSC_0538

Sorry about the grainy photos, I’m not sure what’s up with my camera. It was in reach of little hands this week, so I think I need to go back and check my settings.

It feels so great to get this month’s bee blocks done. I’m turning to my February A Lovely Year of Finishes goal next, since the project I’m working on is for an upcoming birthday. Soon after I hope to finish up my first Empower at do.Good Stitches quilt. I just need to confirm that I have all the blocks and I can get started.

2 thoughts on “February Bee Blocks are Finished!

  1. Kelli

    I love your blocks! They look great. I haven’t started on my for Empower yet…the race took up all of my mental efforts. Now it’s time to jump on them.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

