WIP Wednesday and Golden Threads Finish!

What in the world was I thinking, when I planned on posting this finish the same weekend as Ava’s seventh birthday. No way that was ever going to happen! I decided to just lump it in with my WIP post instead.

DSC_0142

At the beginning of Aug, I decided to take an inventory of all my quilt projects based on what stage of completion they are in. My categories are… fabric cut, blocks pieced, top done, top and back, basted and quilted. I only advance a project on the step where I set it aside, so my Scrappy Swoon jumped from cut to top and back in one swoop. I’m finding that the quilted category is ending up being unnecessary, since binding is my favorite part of the process, so I rarely pause before I finish a quilt up. As the month wore on, I decided to make a list off to the side of my finishes. As you can see from the picture above, I have had four finishes since I made this list, my do. Good Stitches Scrappy Trips, Anna’s 18th Birthday quilt, a commissioned baby quilt and the quilt I’m going to talk about today that I made in exchange for long-arm services.

One of the best things about Golden Threads Quilting Club is that they build community. While one of the goals is to make lap quilts for local seniors, after members make a charity quilt they then help them make quilts for themselves. Since I’m already a quilter, Tara and I kind of reversed the process. She long-armed Anna’s quilt and I made a lap quilt for her to donate.

DSC_0064

I had a partial layer cake of Kate Spain’s Serenade and with the addition of a couple of stash fabrics, put together a simple quilt top. I love that it has the feel of a Fall garden. Ever since I saw Janice’s Ultra-Wavy Quilting tutorial at Better Off Threads, I knew I wanted to use it in a quilt. Since this was a relatively small quilt, it was the perfect opportunity to give it a go. As a bonus, a couple of the fabrics have a wood grain pattern and I knew the waves would soften the quilt pattern.

DSC_0070

I really couldn’t be more thrilled with the results. In fact, this may be my new favorite quilting method. I had bought a large piece of one of my favorite Terrain prints on sale months ago and it made the perfect backing. While the long purple trimmings from Anna’s quilt back added the finishing touch for the binding.

DSC_0071

As for the rest of my WIP’s, I hope to clear off the right hand page by the end of the month. I have two quilts basted…my giant star that’s been partially quilted since last winter and the a scrappy 16-patch that’s waiting for inspiration to strike.

DSC_0490DSC_0140I have four quilts ready for basting. Cate’s weighted blanket has been waiting for me to finish the inner weighted part since last Fall.

DSC_0993

The other three I pieced in the last month… a yellow and green Giant Scrappy Swoon, a second lap quilt for Golden Threads made from Anna’s birthday quilt scraps and a Comma baby quilt I’m making for a friend.

Scrappy SwoonDSC_0136DSC_0190

But first on my list for this week are BEE BLOCKS!!!! Really!

Linking up to WIP Wednesday at Freshly Pieced
and Finish It Friday at Crazy Mom Quilts

5 thoughts on “WIP Wednesday and Golden Threads Finish!

Leave a Reply

