2013 ~ WIP List & FAL Q1

It’s time to take stock of my sewing projects. I had joined in on the last FAL of 2012, but didn’t get my finishes submitted in time. I am following Rhonda’s lead at Quilter in the Gap and made myself a handy chart to list my projects and track my progress. I had to do some digging to capture pictures of them all. Unfortunately I can’t figure out how to insert it in my post. It’s a good thing I made it none the less. It’s so easy to have a new idea and work on it through the initial steps. But I’m finding that if I set it aside to start on a new idea, it becomes harder to go back to, because the shine is off the penny. What seemed so fresh and exciting becomes lessened by the newer projects catching my fancy. It’s not only a matter of choosing to work exclusively from my current list, but also of not actively thinking about new projects or browsing new fabrics. It sounds counter-intuitive, given that I do this so I can explore my creativity, but it is also about engaging deeply with the process. I find that if I slow down, I work in more thoughtful ways and also get to enjoy the sense of completion. I am a new enough quilter that I’m still in love with all my ideas and projects. I want to keep working on them so my WIP’s don’t become UFO’s.

That doesn’t mean there will be nothing new for me in 2013. I find that Bees and BOM’s offer a great opportunity to spur on creativity. I am especially enjoying working in other people’s palettes and seeing color in new ways. I’ve found myself active in several, so I should have no problem finding monthly opportunities to try new things.

Monthly Bees & BOM’s
1. Empower at do.Good Stitches
2. Color Bee Shocked
3. 3 X 6 Bee – Currently finishing up rounds in paper-piecing and sampler hives
4. 4 X 5 Modern Quilt Bee – Currently starting a round in paper-piecing
5. Lucky Stars BOM – I will be making them in the same palette as my practice blocks
6. Gen X & Aurifil BOM‘s – I will be picking and choosing from both of these in Terrain from stash

Quilts In Process (FAL Q1 Eligible in Bold)
1. Hexie Charm – 650+ charms complete
DSC_04512. Grandmother’s Flower Garden – Approx. 75 flowers complete
DSC_04523. Terrain Stairway to Heaven – Ready to baste
DSC_08854. DS String – 24 blocks done, needs 6 more
DSC_04455. Cate’s Granny – 24 blocks done, needs layout decision
6. Ava’s Granny – 24 blocks done, needs layout decision
DSC_04487. Cate’s Weighted Blanket – Top pieced, back & binding done, needs inner portion
DSC_09938. Black HST – Ready to Trim
DSC_04579. Log Mansion – QAYG Blocks Complete, needs assembled
DSC_010810. Birds and the Bees Dream Weaver – Top Complete, Back ready to piece
DSC_009211. Madrona Road Giant Star with Charcoal – Star complete, needs borders
12. Madrona Road Giant Star with White – Star complete, ready to baste
These are also my January Goal for A Lovely Year of Finishes
DSC_044213. DS Magic Numbers – Pieces cut
DSC_045914 Reunion at Grannies – Pieces cut
DSC_045615. Many Trips Around the World – Pieces cut
DSC_0458 (2)16. Girls I-Spy Patchwork – Pieces cut
DSC_045517. Flower Fairy’s in Megan’s Star – Ready to cut
18. Tradewinds Pinwheel – Ready to cut
19. Simply Color Woven – Ready to cut
20. d.GS Trips – 6 blocks in, waiting for remaining
DSC_044421. Practice Blocks and Lucky Star BOM – 6 blocks complete, need 18 more
DSC_044722. GenX & Aurifil BOM in Terrain – Ready to begin
23. Scrappy Swoon-Along (yellow & green) – Pieces in process of being cut
24. Scrappy Swoon-Along (aqua & orange) – Fabrics selected
25. Rosalie in Cuzco – Ready to cut
26. Shoeman’s Puzzle – Ready to cut

Small Projects (FAL Q1 Eligible in Bold)
1. Stairway to Heaven Pillow – Top complete, ready to quilt
DSC_09962. Joy Table Runner – 40 blocks complete, need 10 more
DSC_04533. Madrona Road MQG Challenge – In process
DSC_04434. Gabe’s Minky Blanket – In process
5. 3 Play Doll Blankets for Girls – Blocks complete, ready to be assembled
DSC_04545. Lego Mat – Ready to cut
6. Drawstring Bags – Ready to cut
7. Coin purses – Supplies assembled
8. Quilted Tote
9. Journal Covers
10. Pot Holders

I can’t believe I was able to find pictures for all but two. I’ll insert the others once I get them photographed!

Linking up to…
2013 FAL Q1 at She Can Quilt
Let’s Get Acquainted Monday Link-Up at Plum and June

2 thoughts on “2013 ~ WIP List & FAL Q1

  1. Taryn

    Good luck with all of your projects! I am in love with the Terrain Stairway to Heaven. Such a gorgeous design with beautiful vibrant colors!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

